How to influence decision makers to achieve a zero carbon economy that helps all life thrive

A little bit about my background before beginning. I’ve been working on influencing decision makers for the last ten years.

I’ve helped write reports for the likes of the Europe Commission, World Bank and Department for Transport. I’ve pooled evidence regarding onshore and offshore wind renewable energy so to influence decision making of government.

I’ve been an activist attending several rallies, filled in dozens of petitions, have helped manage a political movement to shift public opinion, and I’ve met with several MPs to ask them to implement change within legislation.

Collage%20of%20attending%20various%20events

Within this piece I’m not going to talk about what policies we need to influence but how do you influence.

When considering work around advocacy the key question I think is ‘What change do you want to see in the audience you are advocating to?’ That means actually considering beyond wanting to have an emotional response from the person you’re engaging, what you actually want them to do.

People often get this wrong - they pick the highest audience they can think of and ask for really difficult to achieve things. I started exactly the same. I wanted people to join my club and do my bidding. I wanted to put as little effort in as possible and get the biggest outcomes.

They will say things like ‘I want my MP make a zero carbon economy’ but that’s a massive thing to ask one person to achieve… If the request is ‘I want my MP to write to the secretary of state for the environment to ask them to make a zero carbon economy before 2050’ then that’s a more reasonable request…

I would say there are three levels to influencing decision makers, and then the other is to become the decision maker.

Influencing public opinion: Through demonstrations, petitions, letter writing campaigns etc.