The Nissan Leaf Trip

Hi. I have been driving a Nissan Leaf (30kwh) for 2 years now and have covered 23000 miles. My partner and I had taken one out for a test drive several years earlier (a 24kwh) and loved the experience, setting it firmly in our minds as a goal for the future. However, at that time there was hardly anywhere to charge it (I live in a flat and cannot park near to home, so cannot have a home charger), and the range was not quite enough for my needs.

So when Nissan contacted me half way through the lease of my petrol car offering me an upgrade, I boldly told them I was only interested in a 30kwh Leaf. Amazingly, they put together a great deal and I was able to swap to electric much earlier than I expected. My partner was now working in Bristol and had started getting the bus to work, and we were able to go from a two petrol car family, to a one EV family.

The cost savings have been significant, as I no longer pay road tax, and servicing is less than £100 each time. My fuel costs vary between £5-50 per month, depending on how many freebies I get. Although my fueling costs are higher because I use the public network rather than at home, I do get these freebies from time to time which often evens things out. I used to pay around £120 each month on petrol.

As well as the clear benefits of knowing I can travel around as much as I like without worrying about adding to emissions, the car is just good fun to drive, and incredibly easy.

I do about 250 miles in a normal week and need to charge 2-3 times. We have had some longer trips too. Bristol to Norfolk and Lincoln, and to Wales, to Cornwall and to Yorkshire. One holiday week took in 1050 miles and cost just £14.15.